We Are Progress: Event Agenda

All times and speakers are subject to change. The event is free, but online pre-registration is mandatory. RSVP’s will close on Wednesday, January 18. Attendees will receive event and security information via email on Thursday, January 19.

12:30 PM — 1:00 PM | Welcome and Opening Plenary

  • Neera Tanden, Center for American Progress Action Fund
  • Michael Blake, New York Assemblyman

1:00 PM — 1:30 PM | Transition Time

1:30 PM — 3:00 PM | Issue-Based Workshops

Participants will have the option to choose one of five breakouts.

  • Immigration with Hareth Andrade, formerly of the Dream Project, Lorella Praeli, formerly of Hillary for America, and Hector Sanchez of the Labor Council for Latin American Advancement
  • Health Care with Colin Seeberger of Young Invincibles and Erin Carhart of Planned Parenthood Action Fund
  • Student Debt with Alexis Goldstein of Americans for Financial Reform, Breana Ross of the United States Student Association, and Natalia Abrams of Student Debt Crisis
  • Civil Rights with Michele Jawando & Ed Chung of the Center for American Progress and Audrey Lopez of Voto Latino
  • Climate Change with Alison Cassady of the Center for American Progress, Tina Johnson of the U.S. Climate Action Network, and Adrienne Cooper of Defend Our Future

3:00 PM — 3:30 PM | Transition Time and Snacks

3:30 PM — 5:00 PM | Skills-Based Workshops

Participants will have the option to choose one of three breakouts.

  • Citizen Lobbying 101 with Ezra Levin, Angel Padilla, & Myrna Ivonne Wallace Fuentes of Indivisible
  • Engaging the Press with Tim Hogan & Sabrina Singh, formerly of Hillary for America, and Jeremy Slevin of the Center for American Progress
  • Running for Office with Trey Nix of Roy Cooper for North Carolina, Lucinda Guinn of EMILY’s List, and Mandela Barnes of the State Innovation Exchange

5:00 PM — 5:15 PM | Transition Time

5:15 PM — 6:00 PM | Closing Plenary

  • Svante Myrick, Mayor of Ithaca